Irish Historic Houses Association

The Irish Historic Houses Association is the umbrella organisation representing Ireland’s historic houses. These houses and their contents are part of the physical evidence that helps to define the cultural and historical relationship between Ireland and the rest of Europe.

The preservation of this part of Ireland’s cultural heritage is of national importance, something recognised by successive governments, which have enacted legislation to safeguard historic houses, their parks and contents, for current and future generations.

Heritage properties that remain in private hands have a unique value, especially those that have been owned by the same family for several generations. Typically, they contain artefacts and archives that greatly enhance the cultural and historical significance of each country house in its locality; indeed, many historic houses encapsulate the history of their surrounding regions. Below are listed historic houses which are members of theIrish Historic Houses Association within the counties of Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Meath and Wicklow.


Lissen Hall

Lambay Castle


Burtown House



Leixlip Castle

Lodge Park

Moone Abbey


Barmeath Castle


Collon House

Killineer House

Rokeby Hall




Altidore Castle

Killruddery House