Places to visit: Other

George's Street Arcade

George’s Street Arcade***

South City Markets was Dublin’s first purpose built Victorian Shopping Centre. In 1876, the Dublin (South) City Market Company was incorporated with a share capital of £200,000 and a loan capital of £50,000. A special Act of Parliament was passed, which gave the Company power to acquire the land and premises required to construct the Market and to widen and improve the surrounding streets.

Designed by distinguished British architects Lockwood and Mauson, and promoted by wealthy families with extensive property interests in the city, South City Market was formally opened by the Lord Mayor, Sir George Moyers, in 1881.

The Market was not initially popular with ordinary Dubliners, possibly because of the appointment of English architects and builders. Tragedy befell the Market on August 27th 1892 when a massive fire devastated the whole building. No one was killed but the shopkeepers lost their premises and homes overhead, and the stallholders suffered heavy financial loss as their stock was not insured. There was a flood of public sympathy for the stallholders and a fund for their relief was successfully organised.

The Centre was re-built, using local labour and craftsmen, and was re-opened in September 1894. South City Market, or George’s Street Arcade, as it is more commonly known today, has traded continuously since then. The present owners, the Layden Family Group, acquired the property in late 1992. There are about fifty tenants varying in size from Dunnes Stores to small sidewalk stalls, selling everything imaginable. The Arcade is a unique part of the Dublin shopping scene with its own very special ambience.

Open Mon-Wed 9.00 am-6.30 pm; Thur-Sat 9.00 am-7.00 pm; Sun 12.00 pm-6.00 pm

www.georgesstreetarcade.ie

George’s Street, Dublin 2

Tel: 01- 283 6077

No admission charge

Glasnevin Cemetery

Glasnevin Museum and Cemetery ****

Wittily dubbed “Croak Park” by local wags, over 1.5 million people are buried here. Visit the graves of famous people and hear about Irish history on a guided tour. Trace your roots in the Genealogy Area (all the records are available online at www.glasnevintrust.ie/genealogy).

The highly popular general history tour gives an insight into Victorian and later times. Visit the final resting place of men and women who have helped shape Ireland’s past and present, such as Daniel O’Connell, Charles Stewart Parnell, Michael Collins, Maud Gonne and Roger Casement. Explore the high walls and watchtowers surrounding Glasnevin and learn about the colourful history of Dublin’s grave robbers.

A particularly dramatic attraction is the once-a-day re-enactment of famous speeches (e.g. Patrick Pearse delivering the graveside oration at Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa’s funeral or James Larkin’s famous speech made at the front gates of Mountjoy Prison). These take place at 2.30 pm each day.

Padraig Pearse’s 1915 oration [“The Fools, the Fools, the Fools! – they have left us our Fenian dead – And while Ireland holds these graves, Ireland unfree shall never be at peace”] roused Irish republican feeling and was a significant element in the lead-up to the Easter Rising of 1916.

Museum attractions include the City of the Dead (an exhibition covering the burial practices and meticulous record-keeping regarding the 1,500,000 people buried in Glasnevin); the Religion Wall (illustrating different beliefs about the after-life); the Milestone Gallery (which houses a succession of special exhibitions on key historical figures, starting with Glasnevin’s founder, Daniel O’Connell); and the Timeline (a 10- metre long digitally interactive table containing details of the lives and relationships of hundreds of the most famous people buried here).

When planning a visit to the Cemetery, remember that you can now access the Botanic Gardens via the cemetery. A gate access to the “Botanics” from within the cemetery has been re-opened. The gate is located along the wall at the far side of Glasnevin Cemetery (the Prospect Square entrance).

Museum Opening Times: From March 24 to October 26: open 10.00 am-6.00 pm. All other times: open 10.00 am-5.00 pm.

General History Tour: Daily at 10.30 am, 2.30 pm
Dead Interesting Tour: Sat and Sun and Bank Holidays at 1.00 pm

Glasnevin also offers a variety of walking tours for pre-booked private groups of 15 or more. Topics include Rising Tours (guided tours of the graves of combatants and civilians involved in, and affected by the 1916 Rising); Women’s Tours (famous women interred in Glasnevin Cemetery); Literary/Cultural Tour (writers, artists and musicians, both famous and forgotten); Joycean Tour (a journey through the life and imagination of James Joyce – from the Hades chapter of Ulysses to the final resting place of his parents); Labour Tour (visit the Graves of those who fought for change and social reform); Military History Tour (from those who fought with Wellington in the Napoleonic campaigns through to the trenches of World War One, plus figures that fought in the Civil Wars of America and Spain); and Shared History Tour (referencing the Ulster Covenant, The First World War, The Easter Rising and The War of Independence). Booking with at least two weeks’ notice is essential for any group wishing to take one of these tours. To book a tour please contact booking@glasnevintrust.ie or call 01 882 6577.

There is limited car parking space on the main road opposite the cemetery. However, a convenient but hard to find car park is available within the housing estate opposite the cemetery (a fee of €2 is payable as you leave this car park).

www.glasnevinmuseum.ie

Finglas Road, Dublin 11.

Tel: 01 882 6550.

General History Tour (incl entry to museum) – Adult €13; concessions.
Dead Interesting Glasnevin Tour (incl entry to museum) – Adults €13; concessions.
Museum only – Adults €6.50; concessions.

 

Guinness Storehouse

Guinness Storehouse *****

Ireland’s number one visitor attraction, providing a journey into the heart of the world famous Guinness brand and company. This historic building is central to Dublin’s heritage, and has been continually updated to create a blend of industrial tradition and contemporary edge. The seven floors bring to life the rich heritage of Guinness, telling the story from its origins at St. James’s Gate in Dublin to its growth as a global brand, known all around the world.

The enormously popular tour takes in the history of the Guinness family, the ingredients and craft of brewing, cooperage and transportation, Guinness’s long tradition of award winning advertising, the craft of pouring the Perfect Pint, the use of Guinness in cooking, and a chance to enjoy a pint of Guinness in the lofty Gravity Bar, taking in breath-taking panoramic 360° views of the city.

Open 7 days a week 9.30 am – 7.00 pm (last admission at 5.00 pm).
Late opening during July & August: 9.00 am – 8.00 pm (last admission at 6.00 pm)
Closed Dec 24-26 & Good Friday.

www.guinness-storehouse.com

St. James’s Gate, Dublin 8.

Tel: 01 408 4800.

Ticket prices vary. The standard walk in rate is €25 per adult but if you book online in advance the off peak adult rate can drop to €17.50. All adult prices include a pint of Guinness. There are price concessions for senior citizens and for children.

Irish Rock'n'Roll Museum

Irish Rock’n’Roll Museum Experience

The Irish Rock’n’Roll Museum Experience is essentially a tour featuring some of Dublin’s best loved professional music facilities, including the Button Factory (a live music venue); Temple Lane Rehearsal Studios; and Temple Lane Recording Studio (where artists such as Rihanna, the Script and Kodaline have recorded).

The Thin Lizzy exhibition celebrates one of Ireland’s greatest bands, within the setting of Apollo Studio where Phil Lynott recorded his last songs before his untimely death. The exhibition is incorporated into a fully functioning studio and features memorabilia such as gold and platinum albums, set lists, some of Phil Lynotts’s costumes, and musical instruments.

The Wall of Fame as a symbol of Irish music royalty has been a fixture in Temple Bar since its unveiling in 2003, providing a focal point for many of Dublin’s walking tours and showcasing the music that is such an integral part of Irish culture. Recently, LED screens were added to the exhibit, allowing for new artists to be added to the exhibit more frequently.

Down through history, certain guitars and equipment have become as legendary as the musicians who play them. Gibson, Fender, Marshall, and Vox are companies that any musician or music enthusiast will know and love. On display in the museum is an extensive variety of vintage instruments and equipment.

Temple Lane Rehearsal Studios are the premiere rehearsal studios in Dublin. Many acts do pre-production for albums here, trying out new material and getting songs ready to record or perform. Now you can experience what it’s like to rehearse with your very own band.

Temple Lane Recording Studio has been at the centre of Irish music since 1984. Countless bands have recorded here, including Paolo Nutini, The Script, Rihanna and many more. Now, for the first time, explore and experience the iconic studios for yourself.

Open 7 days a week 11.00 am to 5.30 pm

www.irishrocknrollmuseum.com/

Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2

Tel: 01-6351993

Adults €16 (get 10% off this price by booking online); concessions

Irish Traditional Music Archive

Irish Traditional Music Archive

The Irish Traditional Music Archive is the national reference archive and resource centre for the traditional song, instrumental music and dance of Ireland. Here is found the largest collection in existence of sound recordings, books/serials, sheet music and ballad sheets, photographs, and videos/DVDs for the appreciation and study of Irish traditional music. The archive also holds a representative collection of the traditional music of other countries.

Visitors may listen to recordings, view DVDs and photographs, read music collections, and research material and topics of interest. The archive is open to all but for study and research purposes only.

Open Mon-Fri 10.00 am-5.00 pm; late opening Thur to 8.00 pm.

Open to the general public one Saturday a month 10.00 am-5.00 pm.

www.itma.ie

73 Merrion Square, Dublin 2.

Tel: 01 661 9699.

Jeanie Johnston Famine Ship

Jeanie Johnston Famine Ship Museum

The Jeanie Johnston Famine Ship Museum is a replica of a wooden tall ship which sailed between Tralee & North America between 1848 and 1855.

The original Jeanie Johnston was built in 1847 on the banks of the St. Lawrence River in Quebec City, Canada. The cargo ship was purchased in Liverpool by John Donovan and Sons of Tralee, Co. Kerry. As the famine gripped Ireland, the company ran a successful trade bringing emigrants from Ireland to North America and returning with timbers bound for the ports of Europe.

The Jeanie Johnston made her maiden voyage on 24th April 1848 from Blennerville, Co. Kerry to Quebec with 193 passengers on board. Over the next seven years the ship made 16 voyages to North America carrying over 2,500 emigrants safely to the New World. Despite the seven week journey in very cramped and difficult conditions, no life was ever lost on board the ship – a remarkable achievement.

Guided tours only.  Tours run Apr-Oct 10.00 am, 11.00 am, 12.00 pm, 2.00 pm, 3.00 pm, and 4.00 pm. Tours run Nov-Mar 11.00 am, 12.00 pm, 2,00 pm, and 3.00 pm. Closed 25-28 December.

www.jeaniejohnston.ie

Custom House Quay, Dublin 1.

Tel: 01 473 0111.

Adults €10; concessions.

Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol *****

Kilmainham Gaol is one of the largest unoccupied gaols in Europe and its history is relevant to some of the most heroic and tragic events in Ireland’s emergence as a modern nation from the 1780’s to the 1920’s. Attractions at this splendidly atmospheric site include a major exhibition detailing the political and penal history of the prison and its restoration. The tour of the prison (which is outstanding) includes an audio-visual show.

When the Gaol was first built, public hangings took place at the front of the Gaol. There was no segregation of prisoners; men, women and children were incarcerated up to five in each cell, with only a single candle for light and heat, most of their time being spent in the cold and the dark. The cells were roughly 28 square meters in size.

Children were sometimes arrested for petty theft, the youngest said to be a seven year-old child, while many of the adult prisoners were transported to Australia. Remarkably, for an age that prided itself on a protective attitude for the ‘weaker sex’, the conditions for women prisoners were worse than for men. An official 1809 report  observed that male prisoners were supplied with iron bedsteads while females ‘lay on straw on the flags in the cells and common halls.’ Half a century later there was little improvement.

Between 1796 and 1924, Kilmainham Gaol was a place where, apart from Daniel O’Connell and Michael Collins, every significant Irish nationalist leader of both the constitutional and physical force traditions was incarcerated. Thus, its history as an institution is intimately linked with the story of the Irish nationalism.

The majority of the Irish leaders in the rebellions of 1798, 1803, 1848, 1867 and 1916 were imprisoned there. It also housed prisoners during the Irish War of Independence (1919–21) and many of the anti-treaty forces during the civil war period. Charles Stewart Parnell was imprisoned here, along with most of his parliamentary colleagues, when he signed the Kilmainham Treaty with William Gladstone.

Kilmainham Gaol was decommissioned as a prison by the Irish Free State government in 1924. Seen principally as a symbol of oppression, there was no interest in its preservation as a monument to the struggle for national independence. The jail’s potential function as a focus for national memory was complicated by the fact that the first four republican prisoners executed by the Free State government during the Irish Civil War were shot in the prison yard.

The site now houses a museum on the history of Irish nationalism and offers excellent guided tours of the building. An art gallery on the top floor exhibits paintings, sculptures and jewellery of prisoners incarcerated in prisons all over contemporary Ireland.

[Thanks to Wikipedia for the above information:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilmainham_Gaol]

The main exhibition at Kilmainham Gaol Museum tells the story of the social and political history of the prison. Three main themes are explored on the different levels of the exhibition space: the social history of Kilmainham Gaol and Irish prisons in the 1800s, the history of Irish nationalism and republicanism, 1796-1924, and the restoration of Kilmainham Gaol in the 1960s.

The ground floor exhibition tells the story of Kilmainham from the perspective of the ordinary prisoner. A prison register for the Gaol shows the crimes for which men, women and children were imprisoned, ranging from violent assault to stealing apples from an orchard. Visitors can see the small wooden box used by convict John Sheahan to carry his possessions to Australia in 1842. A Victorian-era Gandolfi camera, used to capture prisoner ‘mugshots’, is also on display.

Rebellion, nationalism and the path to independence are the themes of the exhibition on the first floor, which deals with Irish political history from the 1798 rebellion up until the end of the Irish Civil War in 1924. Objects on display include Robert Emmet’s proclamation of a provisional government of Ireland in 1803, the last letter written by Charles Stewart Parnell and scapulars taken from the body of Michael Collins following his assassination in 1922.

The ‘Last Words’ section displays the last letters and personal belongings of the fourteen leaders of the Easter Rising executed at Kilmainham Gaol in May 1916. The final floor of the exhibition tells the extraordinary story of a group of volunteers who rescued Kilmainham Gaol from near ruin in the 1960s and restored it.

Kilmainham Gaol is accessible only via a guided tour. The venue is extremely busy in the peak tourist season and as many visitors book online the tours can be completely booked out. It is therefore essential to book your tour online in the peak season. People often turn up in July and August ready to queue, only to find that the venue is totally booked out.   

Open 7 days a week 9.30 am-5.30 pm except 1 June-31 August when the longer opening hours are 9.00 am-6.45 pm.  Closed 24-26 Dec.

A superb souvenir booklet called “A history of Kilmainham Gaol” used to be available in the shop for the bargain price of €5 and was a “must buy” at that price. Sadly, the updated price is €10.

www.kilmainhamgaolmuseum.ie/

www.heritageireland.ie/en/dublin/kilmainhamgaol/

Inchicore Road, Kilmainham, Dublin 8.

Tel: 01 453 5984.

Adults €8 (online price); adults walk up price €9; concessions.

Leinster House

Leinster House is the seat of the two Houses of the Oireachtas (the National Parliament): Dáil Éireann (the House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate). It was built in 1747.

Tours are restricted in scope in 2018 due to restoration works (the historic wing of Leinster House is closed). The Oireachtas remains open and visitors can tour the public galleries of Dáil Éireann and the relocated Seanad.

Walk up tours take place on Mondays and Fridays (at 10.30 am and 2.30 pm) if the house is sitting. The walk up tours take place five days a week (Monday-Friday) at 10.30 am and 2.30 pm) if the house is not sitting. Each tour is limited to the first 30 people who arrive or have already booked a tour. Phone 01 618 3781 to make a booking.

People wishing to arrange a group tour of Leinster House can do so by contacting their local TD or Senator with full details. These tours take place on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays at 10.30 am, 11.30 am, 2.30 pm and 3.30 pm only if the House is sitting.

To reserve a place on one of these tours. please email event.desk@oireachtas.ie with your name, address, email address and contact telephone number, or phone 01 618 3781.

Enter by the Kildare Street gate. Bring your passport or other form of identification with you.

The tour includes visits to the Dáil and Seanad Chambers, to the Oireachtas Committee Meetings Rooms and to the Leinster House Souvenir Shop. During the tour you will learn about the history of the building and about Ireland’s rich parliamentary heritage. Please arrive 15 minutes before the start of the tour.

www.oireachtas.ie

Kildare Street, Dublin 2.

Tel: 01 618 3781.

Admission free.

Mary Aikenhead Heritage Centre

The Mary Aikenhead Heritage Centre showcases the history of the Religious Sisters of Charity. Through audio-visual scenes and many short video clips, visitors gain an insight into the life and times of Mary Aikenhead (1787-1858), the history of the congregation, and its continuing expression today.

Mary Aikenhead spent the last 27 years of her life as an invalid, communicating to her congregation through countless letters. The focal point of the exhibition is her room, where she lived from 1845 until her death in 1858.

Following her training at the Bar Convent in York, Mary founded the Congregation of the Religious Sisters of Charity and the first convent opened in North William Street, Dublin in 1815.

In 1821 the Governor of Kilmainham Gaol asked for sisters to visit two young women who had been convicted of murder and sentenced to death. The Governor was so impressed by the sister’s influence on these women that he asked that they would continue to be involved in prison visitation. To this day, prison visitation is an important ministry for the Congregation.

At the request of the Archbishop of Dublin, the Sisters of Charity opened their first school in 1830 in Gardiner Street, Dublin.

In 1832 there was an outbreak of Asiatic cholera in Ireland. A temporary hospital was set up in Grangegorman but it was badly managed and under-staffed. The Archbishop of Dublin asked Mary Aikenhead to send some of her sisters to Grangegorman to help. The death rate was high, but the sisters remained at their posts bringing solace to the dying and nursing to the convalescents. Only one sister contracted the disease, and she survived.

In 1835 St. Vincent’s Hospital opened in a house on St. Stephen’s Green. It was the first hospital staffed by nuns in the English-speaking world.

The Children’s Hospital in Temple Street was founded in 1872 by a group of charitable people in a house at 9 Upper Buckingham Street, Dublin. There was a steady increase in activity in the first years, prompting the Governing Committee in 1876 to invite the Religious Sisters of Charity to take over the complete running of the hospital which they did in July 1876.

Our Lady’s Hospice, Harold’s Cross was opened in December 1879. Newspaper reports at the time hailed the opening of the Hospice as ‘a unique charity’ and as one ‘previously unknown in these islands, or indeed in the neighbouring continent’.

In 1892 Providence Woollen Mills was established under the guidance of Sr. Mary Arsenius Morrogh Bernard as a way of improving the social and economic conditions of the people of Foxford, Co. Mayo.

Open Tuesday to Sunday 10.30 am – 4.00 pm.

www.rscmaheritage.com

Our Lady’s Hospice, Harold’s Cross Rd, Harold’s Cross, Dublin 6W

Tel: 01-4910041

Admission is free. Please phone in advance to arrange a visit.

Leprechaun Museum

National Leprechaun Museum

The National Leprechaun Museum is a light-hearted celebration of Irish fairy tales and folklore. It covers such territory as the festivals of Samhain, Bealtaine and Lughnasa; the Tuatha Dé Danann; Cúchulainn and the Fianna; and ghosties such as the Púca and the Banshee. Exhibits include the rainbow room, a leprechaun well, the Giant’s Causeway, and the rain room.

Open daily 10.00 am-6.30 pm.  In the high season tours are every 20 minutes; in the low season, tours are every hour (Mon-Fri) and every 30 minutes (weekends).

Evening tours Fridays 7.30 pm & 8.30 pm; Saturdays  7.00 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm.  Evening tours are unsuitable for children.

Daytime tours are 45 minutes long; evening tours last 60 minutes.

www.leprechaunmuseum.ie

Jervis Street, Dublin 1.

Tel: 01 873 3899.

Day tours – Adults €16; concessions. Night tours – Adults €18.