The Casino (meaning “small house”) was designed by Sir William Chambers in the late eighteenth-century as a pleasure house for James Caulfeild, 1st Earl of Charlemont. It is widely acknowledged as the most important example of neoclassical architecture in Ireland.
One of only a handful of buildings in Ireland designed by Chambers, the most celebrated architect of his time, the Casino is full of architectural tricks, devices, and secrets. Although it looks like a one-room Greek temple from the outside, there are actually three floors and sixteen finely decorated rooms hidden inside.
The Casino is the last remaining building of Lord Charlemont’s once-spectacular demesne at Marino in Dublin which, until the late nineteenth century, extended from modern-day Collins Avenue south to Marino Mart in Fairview. The story of the demesne and the Casino itself is told through maps, models, images, and letters on display throughout the building.
The House is accessed via guided tours only. Tours are on the hour every hour. [Private tours can also be booked; these run every hour on the half-hour].
THE CASINO IS CURRENTLY CLOSED.
The Casino is usually open seven days a week from March to October.
Open 10.00 am-5.00 pm (March, April, May, October)
Open 10.00 am–6.00 pm (June, July, August, September)
Casino Marino, Cherrymount Crescent, Malahide Road, Marino, Dublin 3.
Tel: 01 833 1618.
“Tunnel Vision” is an exhibition which tells the story of a series of secret tunnels constructed by James Caulfeild, the purpose of which is not clearly understood. It is now known that the tunnels were used by 1921 revolutionaries (including Michael Collins) for shooting practice. Visitors can access the tunnels as part of the regular House tour on Thur-Sat only.